Finnish symphonic extreme metallers Shade Empire announce new album Sunholy

Finnish symphonic black metallers Shade Empire have announced their sixth studio album, Sunholy, will be released on 15th September via Candlelight Records. Ahead of the release the band have unveiled their captivating new video for first single, ‘In Amongst the Woods’. Check out ‘In Amongst The Woods’ here:

Pre-save Sunholy here:

Formed in Kuopio, Finland in 1999, Shade Empire have developed their own genre, an unholy fusion of symphonic melody interwoven with black and death metal overtones, emotionally rich vocals and tight orchestral instrumentation. New album Sunholy features nine towering tracks of atmospheric beauty, barbed with unspeakably brutal guitar patterns, multi-layered beautiful synth walls, devastating drum parts, complex bass assaults and unique vocals that are delivered straight from the jaws of hell. Fans of Dimmu BorgirMardukSepticflesh and DarkTranquility will find something here. 

Comments the band: “Six years after the release of Poetry of the Ill-Minded, we are pleased to present you with our new album Sunholy. We are very excited to let our fans hear what we have been up to. The record is brutality and beauty in perfect harmony.”

Mixed by Chris Edrich (Devin Townsend, Leprous, Alcest) and mastered by Pierrick Noël (Klone), with Fleshgod Apocalypse‘s Francesco Ferrini responsible for the orchestrations and Andy Reich at Collapse Of Art completing the artwork, Sunholy is a long-aged piece of art and labour of love. Embodying the most comprehensive Shade Empire effort to date, the lyrics are thematically inspired by the Jonestown tragedy, a mass murder-suicide of the Peoples Temple cult, but there’s also a fuller contemplation and exploration of the current state of the world.

After a long-endured absence, Shade Empire have returned as grandiose experts in their craft, with an astounding soundtrack to Hell’s gates opening and a band relishing being at the top of their game.

Shade Empire are:
Henry Hämäläinen – vocals
Juha Sirkkiä – guitars and keys
Eero Mantere – bass guitar
Erno Räsänen – drums
Aapeli Kivimäki – guitars 

Shade Empire online:
Official Website || Facebook || Instagram || Twitter || Candlelight

About Shade Empire

Since 1999 Shade Empire have strived to forge their own sound. Hailing from Finland, the band inked a deal with Italian label Avantgarde Records for the release of their first critically acclaimed album Sinthetic (2004). Success was to follow in 2006 with their follow-up release Intoxicate O.S, which had been recorded at the famous Studio Perkele, and in its opening week achieved position 25 in the official Finnish charts. Their third release, concept album Zero Nexus (2008) took them higher into the Finnish charts, debuting at no 15. Fourth album Omega Arcane (#13 in the album charts) was released via Candlelight Records in 2014 with Poetry Of The Ill-Minded (#16th) following in 2017. The band have toured with bands such as UnleashedKrisiun, Borknagar and appeared at numerous festivals worldwide.

Sunholy Tracklisting

1. In Amongst The Woods
2. The Apostle
3. This Coffin an Island
4. Sunholy
5. Torn Asunder
6. Maroon
7. All-Consuming Flame
8. Profane Radiance
9. Rite of Passage

Sign Up