Finnish symphonic extreme metallers Shade Empire release stunning new single/lyric video ‘Maroon’ 

New album Sunholy will be released via Candlelight Records on 15th September 

Finnish symphonic extreme metallers Shade Empire have released their thought provoking third single, ‘Maroon‘. The track is taken from their sixth studio album, Sunholy,set for release on 15th September.

Pre-save Sunholy here:

The band comments: “We think that ‘Maroon’ is one of the finest compositions of our career so far. This is not just a song but a journey that requires you to hopefully stop by and listen. ‘Maroon’ proves also that Henry is one of the most versatile vocalists in Finland as this track showcases his wide scale.”

Formed in Kuopio, Finland in 1999, Shade Empire have developed their own genre, an unholy fusion of symphonic melody interwoven with black and death metal overtones, emotionally rich vocals and tight orchestral instrumentation. New album Sunholy features nine towering tracks of atmospheric beauty, barbed with unspeakably brutal guitar patterns, multi-layered beautiful synth walls, devastating drum parts, complex bass assaults and unique vocals that are delivered straight from the jaws of hell. Fans of Dimmu Borgir, Marduk, Septicflesh and Dark Tranquility will find something here. 
Mixed by Chris Edrich (Devin Townsend, Leprous, Alcest) and mastered by Pierrick Noël (Klone), with Fleshgod Apocalypse‘s Francesco Ferrini responsible for the orchestrations and Andy Reich at Collapse Of Art completing the artwork, Sunholy is a long-aged piece of art and labour of love. Embodying the most comprehensive Shade Empire effort to date, the lyrics are thematically inspired by the Jonestown tragedy, a mass murder-suicide of the Peoples Temple cult, but there’s also a fuller contemplation and exploration of the current state of the world.

After a long-endured absence, Shade Empire have returned as grandiose experts in their craft, with an astounding soundtrack to Hell’s gates opening and a band relishing being at the top of their game. 

Shade Empire are:
Henry Hämäläinen – vocals
Juha Sirkkiä – guitars and keys
Eero Mantere – bass guitar
Erno Räsänen – drums
Aapeli Kivimäki – guitars 

Shade Empire online:
Official Website || Facebook || Instagram || Twitter || Candlelight

About Shade Empire

Since 1999 Shade Empire have strived to forge their own sound. Hailing from Finland, the band inked a deal with Italian label Avantgarde Records for the release of their first critically acclaimed album Sinthetic (2004). Success was to follow in 2006 with their follow-up release Intoxicate O.S, which had been recorded at the famous Studio Perkele, and in its opening week achieved position 25 in the official Finnish charts. Their third release, concept album Zero Nexus (2008) took them higher into the Finnish charts, debuting at no 15. Fourth album Omega Arcane was released via Candlelight Recordsin 2014 with Poetry Of The Ill-Minded following in 2017. The band have toured with bands such as UnleashedKrisiun, Borknagar and appeared at numerous festivals worldwide. 

Sign Up