Global doom supergroup MMXX release new single/video feat. Dan Swanö’ (Edge of Sanity/Nightingale)

Album Sacred Cargo due 11th November

Global doom metal supergroup MMXXhave released their new single/video,‘Shadow Haven’ Feat. Dan Swanö (Edge of Sanity/Nightingale). 

The third single to be released from their highly anticipated forthcoming album Sacred Cargo (11th November) bursts forth with sombre grace and melancholy, paving the path for the band’s debut with a rich-textured soundscape, soulful vocals, and powerful beauty.

Check out the video, ‘Shadow Haven’ Feat. Dan Swanö
Streaming and purchase options here:

Commenting on the new single, drummer Jesse Haff explains: Andreashared what would become ‘Shadow Haven’ with me at the very end of the writing process forSacred Cargo. Even beforeDan Swanöbrought his magic to the song, I was immediately hypnotised by the composition, and felt it would be the perfect album finale.Dan‘s dynamic vocals then elevated it to a completely different level. We’re all very proud of the final result.Eganwrote the lyrics about how many of us learned to find peace in the quiet secluded time during pandemic lockdown, despite the misery unfolding around us.”

Born during the initial lockdown of Rome and New York City, and incubated as the seasons passed, doom metal supergroup MMXX is the sound of global isolation. At the core of MMXX is Andrea Chiodetti(ex-The Foreshadowing) on guitars and keys, Jesse Haffon drums (Daylight Diesand Gökböri) and Egan O’Rourke on bass (Daylight Dies). Together they channelled inspiration for composition after composition to collaborate with a geographically, culturally, and stylistically diverse collection of celebrated vocalists and musicians from around the world.

“Sacred Cargostarted during one of the darkest moments of lockdown,” explains guitarist Andrea Chiodetti“it was a creative expression, processing what was happening to the world around us. What makes this project unique is that every piece and its lyrics (provided by each singer), all composed during the height of the pandemic, is able to give voice to a deeply intimate part of all of us. They’re lyrics that belong to every person who lived through and shared that collective experience.” 

The end result, Sacred Cargo, is a dynamic and diverse sounding release, simultaneously densely heavy whilst retaining elements of etherealness and light, with each guest vocalist layering in their own perspective to culminate in this eclectic compendium of music reflecting an experience sadly understood by all. 

Drummer Jesse Haff adds: “It’s amazing to me that the grand vision of this album—one in which we had different vocalists from around the world contributing their own lockdown experience—was actually achieved.Andreaand I imagined our ideal end result and just went for it but underestimated how much coordination would be required by everyone to truly pull it off. I’m amazed that so many talented people connected with the intent behind the project and agreed to participate. I’m deeply grateful for that. We didn’t have to describe some foreign science fiction concept—unfortunately it is a directly understood reality experienced by all. I think the idea of directly channelling our unique perspectives into a collective expression resonated with everyone, as an obvious way to mark this era of our lives.” 
Appearing on forthcoming album Sacred Cargo, guest vocalists include Dan Swanö of Edge of SanityNightingale (Sweden), Yann Ligner of Klone (France), Mick Moss of Antimatter and Sleeping Pulse (UK), Aaron Stainthorpe of My Dying Bride (UK), Mikko Kotamaki of Swallowthe Sun (Finland), Carmelo Orlando of Novembre (Italy), Marco Benevento of The Foreshadowing (Italy), ChrisCannella of Autumns End (USA), and Egan O’Rourke of Daylight Dies (USA).

MMXX are:
Andrea Chiodetti – Guitar/Keys
Jesse Haff – Drums
Egan O’Rourke – Bass

MMXX online:
Website || Facebook || Instagram

Sacred Cargo Tracklist

1: This Breath Is Not My Breath Feat. Mikko Kotamäki

2: Perdition Mirror Feat. Mick Moss

3: The New Forgotten Ones Feat. Yann Ligner

4: Faint Flickering Light

5: The Tower Feat. Mick Moss

6: Unavailing Feat. Marco Benevento, Chris Cannella

7: Der Nukleus Feat. Carmelo Orlando

8: Sacred Cargo Feat. Aaron Stainthorpe

9: Espirare

10: Shadow Haven Feat. Dan Swano

Sign Up